Posted by: thederangedbear | October 3, 2008

Ape Killaz

Oops!

Flashback a few weeks ago: I was at Crash’s trying to assemble cards for WolverineSmash. While I was only looking for commons, I was a bit worried about my ability to find all the ones I needed, especially since they consisted S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents – Army * Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D., which are quite hard to find.

Surprisingly, Crash had a plethora of S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents but no Cape-Killers Unit – Army * Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. . He was a bit disappointed at this imbalance.

“Oh no.” I told him, before proceed to enlighten him about his good fortune. “S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents go for two dollars a pop at the few places you can find them.”

Crash was surprised, and really… weren’t we all?

Most of us were more caught into the hype of massing Cape-Killer and completely ignored the comparatively innocuous S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents. Fast forward today, and where’s all the cape killers go? [/jackjohnson] Instead we got SHIELD Simmer and SHIELD Burn, none of which run two drops.

Math is God

The problem with Cape Killers is – as I am certain those of who have tested it have come to realize – when you hit the rally, you actually don’t come ahead – Multiple Man is already a one cost two ATK.

If you do miss the rally though, you are in huge trouble, as you have essentially recruited an overcosted character.

The other thing is the fact that the two point resource investment. If Cape Killers were 1 cost, with you losing 1 resource point if you miss the rally would they be too good? I don’t think so. As it is, you more or less lose 1 resource point at the end of every Cape Killer chain.

I understand that it reloads your hand, but it’s a very cumbersome card advantage to board advantage transition sometimes.

But…

Looking at Edgeworld’s lists for Worlds they didn’t have Common Bond which is pretty interesting. Captain America, provides a pretty awesome way to finish off, and the Avengers also offer you another pseudo global with the ability to dig. You also get a free character, and access to a search card that also helps you team-up.

Here’s what I’ve been playing with on MWS:

Characters: 36
26x Cape-Killers Unit – Army * Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.
4x Captain America – The Patriot * Secret Avenger
4x Speedball ♦ Penance – Painmonger
1xEcho ♦ Ronin – Secret Avenger
1x Spider-Man – New New Avenger

Plot Twists: 20
4x Common Bond
4x The Big Three
4x Avengers Reassembled
4x Rogue Squadron
4x Losing the Argument

Locations: 4
4x S.H.I.E.L.D. Helicarrier

I love the Big Three so much! The Wrecking Crew was my favorite cards for the longest time, and now we have one that digs you deeper into your bombs!

Spider-Man is really good! He’s the only team-up in the format that’s searchable. Plus, you don’t even have to control an Avengers character to use it. This opens us up to more potential such as Switching Sides, Young Avengers.

Rogue Squadron is an amazing card. I’m not sure how it happens but I always end up with a KO’d pile full of cards, and Rogue Squadron lets you reload. I thought it would be too cumbersome at first.

Captain America’s pretty sick too, as he helps makes your Cape Killers a bit more exciting.

I tried Maria Hill a little bit but she didn’t excite me too much. I like the slight density towards two to make my Common Bonds insane. My current build on MWS does have some number of SHIELD Agents though – the original plan was to end the recruits with two points left the Captain America, but with more one drops you can actually use all your RP in a turn.

Anyway, this is still something I’m playing around with. Hopefully it pans out.

Peace,

-TDB

Leave a Reply

Categories

