Posted by: thederangedbear | September 23, 2008

Testing Tuesdays: To Stockton~

Here’s my latest build of Spider-Friends/Illuminati:

Characters: 31
2x Aunt May – Golden Oldie
4x Professor X – Mutant Benefactor
4x Black Bolt – Enemy Within
4x Dr. Strange – Secret Avenger
4x Black Cat – Nine Lives
4x Mr. Fantastic – Protector of the Power Gem
2x Spider-Man – The Sensational Spider-Man
1x Iron Man – Protector of the Reality Gem
1x Black Manta – Underwater Marauder
1x Human Torch – Fiery Friend
1x Two-Face – Heads or Tails
1x Spider-Man – Stark’s Protégé
1x The Sentry – Mighty Avenger
1x Galactus – Devourer of Worlds

Plot Twists: 27
4x Mobilize
4x Superhuman Registration Act – Team-Up
4x Clandestine Operations
3x Gift Wrapped
3x Secret Government
3x Omnipotence
2x The Elektra Situation
2x Pathetic Attempt
1x Death of the Dream
1x Have a Blast!

61 cards. The only card that I can see myself cutting at this point is Aunt May , down to one copy. I’m not sure if this is too much.

With regards to the ‘blasts: At first I was worried about me being too paranoid about Omnipotence wars but then I read Tommy Ashton’s musing about Omnipotence here.

Tommy’s words don’t exactly excite me about the prospect of having to fight the war, but at least I’m now certain that this is something that is worth dedicating slots too.

The Fo-Un-Un

So how’s the deck been doing now? Well, it seems fine. I got a pair of games on MWS yesterday:

Game 1 Grevious – Outsider and SHIELD

I think I’m going to lose this one, but I stabilize at six life, with him out of bounce effects and me having Human Torch – Fiery Friend, Omnipotence , and The Elektra Situation – naming Penance and SHIELD Agents.

Game 2 Grevious – Society

I have a clumsy draw, and end up in one of those “Really? I lost?” situations. I make a bad reinforce too, and boom it’s over.

: (

Other Stuff

But yeah: I am somewhat hesitant to play Illuminati again, after their dismal showing at Worlds – although I did punt some of it. I however, simply cannot resist the lure of Clandestine Operations, especially when every other play after turn three exhausts a character an opponent controls.

The thing I really hate about the Illuminati is how many slots you need to dedicate to cards that do nothing. The make it really hard to fit in tech cards. I realize there are some benefits to it, but… I don’t know. It feels somewhat unweildy.

The more interesting story is maybe me assembling the cars. At presently I physically own 23 of the cards in the deck – Kevin has my foil Iron Man and Human Torch. I also have I believe 28 more copies of the cards I need in the mail. I’m not sure will they get there in time, but I ordered them shipped three days, so they should be here by Thursday.

So the cards I need now leave:

4x Dr. Strange – Secret Avenger
1x Black Manta – Underwater Marauder
3x Superhuman Registration Act – Team-Up

Anyone from NorCal have any of these cards?

Peace,

-TDB

Responses

  1. With only 6 spider friends cheaper than spiderman, are you having any problems getting them into play to use 4 drop spidy’s ability?

  2. Not really. Black Cat evades to protect herself, and the deck’s curve allows you to play her on two or three.

    At the very worst, you just end up Mobilize for Aunt May, free her to get Spider-Man. This makes you a little vulnerable to something like Black Widow, but we do have PA now, and this configuration is solid against most archetypes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

