Posted by: thederangedbear | September 22, 2008

Marque Mondays: In Your FACE!

Ludin PM’d – and I am paraphrasing:

Hey, we got a City Champs for a box tomorrow and I need a tier one deck that murders the field completely. Any thoughts?”

Quite the task. My first instinct was to lead Ludin to control.

You like SRA based control?”

N’ah, I want something that beats burn.”

There’s a burn deck?”

It’s SoCal man! C’mon!”

So I proceed to list of a bunch of control decks – with the inclusion of Messiah Complex which Ludin dislikes – but he shoots each one down like Mark Wahlberg.

I want that feeling.” he tells me “That feeling feeling that comes over a man when he sees a decklist that’s exactly perfect. I need that feeling!”

What about Wolverine with Parrington?” I had experienced the pain at Worlds and it seemed like something off the charts enough that it could be good.

Ludin was excited, he started to sketch out a decklist as I went to sleep. The day after next I found out Ludin went 4-1 with the deck and splitting in the finals.

Strong potential.

I Win?!

Now, I hate these types of decks, but I’ve decided in a show of solidarity for A Proud Zinco Podcast, I was going to play this deck at our first City Championships so that we could discuss the merits of this archetype.

So I asked Ludin for his final last list and I played it.

If you want to find out how I did… check vs-blog.com this Thursday. (The suspense! Did the bear fail or succeed with a rush deck?)

To whet your appetite though, here’s my the list I ended up playing.

Characters: 28
4x S.H.I.E.L.D. Agents – Army * Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.
4x Hank Pym ♦ Yellowjacket – Initiative Instructor
4x Speedball ♦ Penance – Painmonger
4x Tania Belinskya ♦ Red Guardian – Cold Warrior
4x Wolverine – Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. * HYDRA
4x Samantha Parrington ♦ Valkyrie – Chooser of the Slain
4x Lady Deathstrike – Opportunistic Killer

Plot Twists: 31
4x Pathetic Attempt
4x The “B” Team
4x Call in a Favor
4x Adamantium Claws
4x Flying Kick
4x Crackshot
4x Savage Beatdown
3x Cannibal Tech

Equipment: 3
3x B.P.R.D. Signal Device

I gotta say the list was mostly spot on-

Peace,

-TDB

Responses

  1. Tease.

    Parrington + Decent attacker = victory mostly. Consider a Quicksilver, Terrigenesis Rebirth as an addition in case of a slower match? He was absolutely awesome in my Assassin deck (Elektra – same diff)


Leave a Reply

Categories

