Posted by: thederangedbear | September 10, 2008

W’s Day: Bloggin’

Today’s ‘W’ is ‘Wisdom’, as in some wisdom for my fellow bloggers/ex-bloggers out there.

But first a word from our sponsors:

ErickGeyes flips Omnipotence over
ErickGeyes: Any resoponses
boyd: your deck is not fun
ErickGeyes: Haha
ErickGeyes:Thank you
System: Player Lost

(Ironically, he was playing mono heralds stall. Add Galactus to the list of cards The Elektra Situation handles that we’d rather not see.)

Continuing this Day

A few weeks ago I read on VS is Not Dead about Trader choosing to stop writing because he really has nothing tosay. It seems like a lot of blogs are slowing down or stopping, and that really makes me sad, because I really like to read about VS.

So what are some tips one can use to extend the longevity of their blog? To find out, I went directly to Sensei Dwarf – whose awesome site you can find here – who’s been the longest most continuoust blogger on the VS System:

Photobucket


How do you keep interested in the VS System with the lack of announcements?

The first year or so that I played this game, I played without partaking in any OP and that was possibly my favorite time playing. There are so many ways to enjoy this game that don’t involve OP, its ridiculous.

Right now, not only am I still going back and forth on changes to my Silver CC deck, but I’m trying to come up with something unique for the upcoming beatdown event. After that, MEV comes out and that will take me well into next year.

How do you find content to put up on your blog daily?

I’m guessing any VS player who posts here regularly has enough content to put up on their blog daily. It’s just a matter of two things:

A. Making blogging a priority. I’m a father of a 10 month old, I have a full time job, and because my parents and in-laws are divorced, there is a family event every two minutes around here – so if anyone can use the old “I don’t have enough time” excuse – it would be me.

If you love it, you’ll do it. If you don’t, other things will get in the way and it won’t get done.

But you don’t have to post every day to have a good blog. I think its fine to post 2 or 3 times a week as long as you are constant.

B. Cutting up your content into sizable portions. I could have written one giant article on Monday about my BYOT deck and been done with it. But that would have left me with nothing T-F. So I cut it in to more easily digestible portions and – there you go – a weeks worth of content!

BTW – just because you have a blog, doesn’t mean everything you post has to be “the ####”. Look at my blog, I’ve posted many decks that were sub par. To me, examining a deck that fails is almost as important as examining decks that kick ###. Plus it lets readers in on the action with suggestions. And hopefully it will spark some ideas.

I wonder what the fine folks about the Lost Hemisphere have to say about it? Hmmm…

Peace,

-TDB

Responses

  1. VS Not Dead isn’t dead, it’s just…sleeping.

    It’s not that I don’t have much to say, it’s just that I don’t have time enough to say it, or at least say it well enough to my standards.

    Great advice from Carlos, good post.

  2. You played Boyd? He’s only been playing Vs for three days!

  3. Lost Hemisphere has nothing to say. We’re very secretive. 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

