Posted by: thederangedbear | August 14, 2008

Thoughtful Thursdays: HULK!!!

You know what the US Government needs to do? It needs to pass legislation making it a requirement for every American man, woman, and child to take a nap in the middle of the day.

As I’m writing this, I just woke up from a nap and I feel so good! Man! There would be a whole lot fewer jerks in this world if we could all get a little shut eye in the middle of the day. They had it right in pre-school; naptime was the best!

Onwards:

HULK SMASH!

Hulk 7

This Monday I attended a BYOT event at Games of Berkeley. I wanted to play Society, but unfortunately, I couldn’t get the cards I wanted.

Fortunately though, Miguel had a Hulk deck pre-built that I borrowed.

Surprisingly, I really enjoyed playing Hulk. Hulk feels more like a combo deck, based around Amadeus Cho and drawing lots of pumps. What your opponent does is 100% irrelavent because Hulk is too big to get stunned back and Miek denies reinforcement.

I think Hulk is the perfect deck for beginners: It’s very powerful, extremely iconic, doesn’t require formation, and most of all has the random ‘Oops! You lose!’ draws that help convince a beginner that they’re better then they really are.

I think if you are interested in demoing VS, Hulk is probably the best. I wish there was some way we could make Hulk cheap enough so tht it could be given away.

Modern Hulk

Recently, this thread, caught my attention. In it, Michael “BigSpooky” Barnes talks about the infamous MKKO vs Hulk match-up, and presents a new Modern Build.

The most interesting thing about Mike’s build is two copies of Hiroim. This actually makes a lot of sense, as it gives the flexibility to underdrop in the first three turns – Amadeus Cho, Miek, and Elloe Kaifi – while still giving you the access to Hiroim when you might need it. I think this is the correct set up, as Hiroim’s value changes 180 depending on the match-up.

Mike’s deck has seven tutors. At first, I felt it was a bit excessive – because of Amadeus Cho, and Rick Jones – but on further inspection it makes a lot of sense. Mike’s deck doesn’t have Imperial Dreadnaught so flight is going to be a big deal, especially since he only plays Miek as a one-of.

Thus, you need more tutors so you can afford to burn them to get Archangel – and so he can set up the right early game Warbound configuration.

Given this, I think you could easily play a one-of copy of Brood.

Total Anarchy is a card that reeks of potential. This deck clearly has trouble with Radioactive Man and Total Anarchy solves that problem, and this definitely fixes that. It also gives you a bit more game against hidden decks.

These are the things I like.

Here’s what I don’t:

For a deck with the potential to rather easily underdrop Amadeus Cho, his Hulk count seems rather low.

Cutting Trouble With Dinosaurs doesn’t make sense to me. This card is effectively Hulk Smash! 5-8. Hulk Smash! is the biggest reason you play this deck! It’s one fifth of their life total! It’s like you snuck in an extra five drop. Reducing the random come out of nowhere wins seems like a bad move in my opinion.

I understand why he had to do it, but… pumps get better exponentially and I think in a long enough time frame you’re better off having a card that just randomly nuts in their face.

(Especially if they Omnipotence Hulk Smash!.)

More over – and this is something I don’t think I’ll articulate very well- this build seems way too in the middle. It seems very greedy, he wants to retain the explosive potential of the deck while also having the disruption in the form of Total Anarchy. It just seems like taking the deck from Hulk Smash to Hulk Think dilutes the potential of the deck a bit too much – atl east for me.

Responses

  1. Siesta’s are awesome. Though I have a bad tendency to take them later in the afternoon and frak up my sleeping patterns. Which are pretty all over the place at the best of times.

  2. I have to disagree with the assessment on the pumps in the hulk deck. I play a control version of the deck as well and have only 5 pumps I still end games on 5-6. You have to keep in mind that righteous anger is still a pump allowing you to atk again.

  3. I have to agree with you that naps are awesome.

    Also, Hulk IS perfect for newer players. My friend built a Random Punks Hulk deck earlier this week and it ran pretty darn well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

